A Lesson in Archaeology

In archaeology, we have comparative ways of talking about constructions like houses, trash piles, and the like. Houses, planned buildings, are called constructed features. They are purposeful and reasoned. People use them every day and they are appreciated for being what they were meant to be. Things like trash piles (middens) are called cumulative features – – they just happen. But there is a rhyme and a reason to the patterns. The changing of the seasons, the special meals, the foods brought in from other places, are all recorded in the cumulative features. They are beautiful in their own way, though they are not planned.

My whole life I tried to be a constructed feature. I tried to have a focus, a purpose. But my life has gone in many ways, and I have become a cumulative feature. I have a rhyme and a reason, and the seasons are recorded and emblazoned on my life. This journal will record my journey to becoming cumulative.

~ by cumulativefeatures on December 8, 2007.

One Response to “A Lesson in Archaeology”

  1. A good opening post in a new blog~

Leave a Reply

 
